Welcome, Guest: Join Nigeria Student Forum / Login / Trending Now / Recent Topics

Stats: 25,007 Members, 79,155 Topics, 16,282 Comments. Date: May 28 2020, 12:07 pm

SPECIAL: Gain Admission Into 200 Level To Study In Any University Via IJMB | CAMBRIDGE | JUPEB | NO JAMB | LOW FEES | Call 07063085343, 08086347092 To Register!

Board Approves 18 Private Polytechnics, None In N/west, N/east, S/south

Nigeria Student Forum / Educational News / Board Approves 18 Private Polytechnics, None In N/west, N/east, S/south

(Go Down)
NSF Banner Ads NSF Banner Ads NSF Banner Ads
Fadeyi Oluwaseun
Ladoke Akintola University Ogbomosho
B.tech Marketing Management
Graduate, Nigeria.

The National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) has offered operational licences to 18 new private polytechnics with the North Central and the South West having the lion’s share but none in the North West, North East and South South.

The licences were presented to the proprietors of the institutions in Abuja by the Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, and the Executive Secretary of NBTE, Dr. Masa’udu Adamu Kazaure, at a brief ceremony last week.

This has brought to a total of 131 polytechnics in the country, out of which 56 are privately owned.

Seven of the newly approved institutions are located in the South West. They are Best Solution Polytechnic, Akure, Ondo State, Ajayi Polytechnic Ikere, Ekiti State, Landmark Polytechnic, Ayetoro, Ogun State, Redeemers College of Technology and Management, Mowe, Ogun State, Saf Polytechnic, Iseyin, Oyo State, Speedway Polytechnic, Lagos State and Timeon Kairos Polytechnic, Lagos State

The North Central too got licences for seven polytechnics: Al-Hikma Polytechnic, Karu, Nasarawa State, Gboko Polytechnic, Gboko, Benue State, Lens Polytechnic, Offa, Kwara State, The Polytechnic Otada Adoka, Benue State, Ashi Polytechnic, Anyiin, Benue State, Citi Polytechnic, Dutse Alhaji, FCT, and Graceland Polytechnic, Offa, Kwara State.

The South East got licences for Savanah Institute of Technology, Abakaliki, Ebonyi State, Uma Ukpai Polytechnic, Asaga Ohafia, Abia State, Grundtvig Polytechnic, Oba, Anambra State, and Mater Dei Polytechnic, Enugu State.

Only two monotechnics: Abuja School of Pension and Retirement Planning, FCT, and Adecom College of Business and Management, Ibadan, Oyo State, received licences at the ceremony.

Four new private colleges of health technology were also approved by government which has increased the number of the health colleges nationwide to 50. They are New Gate College of Health Science and Technology, Minna, Niger State, Aminu Dabo College of Health Sciences and Technology, Kano State, Emirates College of Health Science and Technology, Kano, Kano State, and Bartholomew College of Health Technology, Shao, Moro, Kwara State.

Most of the new institutions will run diploma programmes and higher diploma with time.

The government further approved 32 Innovation Enterprise Institutions (IEIs) which increased their number to 152, as well as eight Vocational Enterprise Institutions (VEIs), bringing their number to 84. There are 31 specialised institutions and 119 technical colleges in the country.

The private institutions will not get any financial support from government, the Minister of State for Education, Prof. Anthony Anwukah, said.

0 Like

Ngstudentforum.com Is The Next Big Hits Student Forum In Nigeria

Don't have an account? Use the form below to signup for a Nigeria Student Forum Account

E.g Seuncoded

I agree to the terms of service

Viewing this topic:
1 guest viewing this topic
NSF Banner Ads NSF Banner Ads NSF Banner Ads
Download the Ngstudentforum app for Android Devices

Disclaimer: Every Nigeria Student Forum member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nigeria Student Forum.
- Copyright © 2016 - 2020. All rights reserved.